Inspiration is Everywhere…

If you follow my Facebook page, you may have noticed my recent obsession  with black and gold…

DSCN6618

Sometimes we can find inspiration in the most unexpected places.  A few months ago I stumbled across a set of silver candlesticks with gold accents that my husband and I had received for a wedding gift 13 years ago.  By the appearance of the candlesticks, that is probably how long it had been since they had been used.  I set out to polish them, but was suddenly struck by the beauty of the shiny gold in contrast to the dull, blackened silver.

DSCN6763

One of my favorite quotes of all time is from Confucius, “Everything has its beauty but not everyone sees it.”  This is so true and the best kind of inspiration there is.  And from my unexpected inspiration….

DSCN6375

DSCN5508

DSCN5550

DSCN6702

DSCN5527

I never did polish the candlesticks.  They are now proudly displayed on my mantle, tarnish and all.

What inspires you when you are least expecting it?

For more of my work, visit my shop, HeidiLee Design.

Leave a Reply

